2006 PowerHockey Cup - Calgary, Alberta  Canada

Related Links
  REPORT ON POWERHOCKEY CUP 2004 - Minneapolis, Minnesota

The Minnesota Stars beat the Toronto Rock 4-1 to win the 2004 PowerHockey™ Cup tournament, being held on the campus of Augsburg College in Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA). After a blistering first period of action where neither team could score, the Stars broke the game open on goals by Chris Kram, Wayne Baier, and Luke Pedersen to make it 3-0 Stars after two periods. The Stars opened the third period on a power-play after an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty against the Rock, and Kram capitalized on the opportunity with his second goal of the game to make it 4-0. Michelle Duboulay got Toronto on the scoreboard with a goal midway through the third period. The Minnesota Stars Chris Kram received the Phil Adams Memorial Trophy for being voted Tournament MVP. Minnesota Stars goaltender Steve Onsum received the Lee Nuutinen Memorial Trophy for being voted Championship Game MVP.

The Minnesota Saints beat the Carolina Fury 5-2 for 3rd Place. Josh Twite had three goals and Sharon Spring had two goals and an assist for the Saints. Lance Fallon scored the Fury's two goals in the third period. Sarah Heinsch got the win in goal for the Saints.

The Toronto Rock entered the 2004 PowerHockey™ Cup tournament set to defend the title it won at the 2001 PowerHockey™ World Cup. Two other teams from the 2001 tournament (Minnesota Stars, 4th place and Minnesota Saints, 9th place) returned in an attempt to win the PowerHockey™ Cup. Both teams had high hopes after improving its rosters. The Carolina Fury rounded out the field as it made its tournament debut. 2001 Tournament MVP Chris Kram (Minnesota Stars) and Championship Game MVP Michelle Duboulay (Toronto Rock) both returned to lay claim to the PowerHockey™ Cup.

Finals Standings
1. Minnesota Stars (5-0-1)
2. Toronto Rock (4-3-0)
3. Minnesota Saints (4-3-1)
4. Carolina Fury (0-7-0)

The first playoff game was between the 3rd seed Minnesota Saints and 4th seed Carolina Fury. The Saints won the first two games between the two teams and looked to advance to the semifinal game against the 2001 PowerHockey™ World Cup defending champion Toronto Rock, but faced a determined and improving team in the Fury. The Saints narrowly escaped with a 2-0 win. Josh Twite and Sharon Spring each had a goal for the Saints. Jeremy Heyer got the win in goal for the Saints, while Carolina's Erin Gordon took the loss. The loss put Carolina automatically into the 3rd Place game.

The Saints advanced to the semifinal game against the Toronto Rock. Josh Twite put the Saints ahead with a first period goal. Toronto answered with a goal in the second period to tie the score, and closed out the game with three goals in the third to win 4-1, and advance to the title game against the top seeded Minnesota Stars. The Rock was led by Michelle Duboulay's three goals, and Dianne Trottier's goal and assist. Jordan Lavoie had two assists and Kevin Humphrey one assist for Toronto. Bradley Gordon got the win in net for the Rock, while the Saints Jeremy Heyer took the loss.

The Minnesota-based U.S. Electric Wheelchair Hockey Association (U.S. EWHA), a non-profit organization and member of Disabled Sports USA, hosted the event. The 2004 PowerHockey™ Cup also marked the first official event of the North American PowerHockey™ Association (NAPHA), a joint venture of the U.S. EWHA and Canadian Electric Wheelchair Hockey Association (CEWHA). The purpose of NAPHA is to develop a strong working relationship between all developed power wheelchair hockey programs throughout North America and abroad. NAPHA members will work together to form the future for PowerHockey™ tournaments.

Report Provided by

Luke Pederson
Vice President & Co-Founder
Director of Communications & League Operations
U.S. Electric Wheelchair Hockey Association (U.S.EWHA)


©2006 North American PowerHockey Association & Calgary PowerHockey League
Content may not be reproduced without express consent.